How to play

tennis is played between two players, this is called singles or two teams of two players, four in all, this is called doubles. Play starts when the player whose turn it is to serve attempts to hit a ball into play. Play will then continue should the receiver manage to return the ball back to his opponent. This phase is called a rally. The point is contested between the players. This rally continues until either the ball lands out of play, or hit’s the net without managing to pass over to the opponents side or bounces twice before a player can return it to his opponent. The primary rule is that a player can only hit the ball once before returning it to his opponent.

The point is won by either player whose opponent causes one of these actions to happen: Points are played for until one player wins a game by accumulating four points with a difference of at least two over his opponent. Games are won once one player has won 6 games to win a set or if necessary, continues as the rules require that a set can only be won by a two clear games margin over the opponent for example: (7-5 games). Matches are made up of 3 or 5 sets. Once a player has won 2 sets in a 3 set match, or 3 sets in a 5 set match play is then concluded and the winner declared because the opponent cannot catch the winner so the match is finished without all the sets being played.